Daily Archives: November 5, 2017

N.E.R.D. Detail Star-Studded New Album at Surprise Listening Party

N.E.R.D.’s first concert in over six years turned into a surprise listening party for their upcoming new album as Pharrell Williams and company debuted No_One Ever Really Dies at ComplexCon in Long Beach, California.

The album, the Neptunes project’s first since 2010’s Nothing, boasts first single “Lemon” with Rihanna as well as guests like Kendrick Lamar, Andre 3000, Future, Ed Sheeran, Gucci Mane and more, Complex reports.

Lamar, who collaborated with Pharrell on To Pimp a Butterfly‘s “Alright,” features on a pair of No_One Ever Really Dies, “Kites” with fellow guest M.I.A. and “Don’t Don’t Do It,” which Pharrell told the audience was inspired by the police shooting death of Keith Lamont Scott in September 2016.

“I just know that for all those unarmed motorists that’s been killed, I know there’s a moment when they tell them to do something there must be a voice in their heads saying, ‘Don’t don’t do it,'” Williams said.

For the “concert,” N.E.R.D.’s Williams, Chad Hugo and Shay Haley sat atop a van surrounded by dancers as the venue’s speakers blasted the new album, which doesn’t yet have a release date. “The album’s not coming out tomorrow,” Williams told the crowd. “We’re giving it to you. It’s yours. You got it before everybody else.”

No_One Ever Really Dies Track List (via Complex)

1. “Deep Down Body Thirst”
2. “Lemon” featuring Rihanna
3. “Voilà” featuring Gucci Mane and Wale
4. “1000” featuring Future
5. “Don’t Don’t Do It” featuring Kendrick Lamar
6. “Kites” featuring Kendrick Lamar and M.I.A.
7. “ESP”
8. “Lightning Fire Magic Prayer”
9. “Rollinem 7’s” featuring André 3000
10. “Lifting You” featuring Ed Sheeran
11. “Secret Life of Tigers”

Related Content:


Pandora Subscriber Base Grows To Over 5 Million

Pandora Premium Paid Subscribers Cross The 1 Million Milestone In October 2017 http://feeds.feedburner.com/musicdish-complete


Watch Kanye West Make Onstage Return at Kid Cudi Chicago Concert

Kanye West made a surprise appearance – the rapper’s first onstage appearance in nearly a year – at Kid Cudi‘s Saturday concert in Chicago, where the two performed “Father Stretch My Hands, Pt 1.”

After stunning the Aragon Ballroom crowd, an obviously elated Cudi and West launched into the Life of Pablo track, with West raising the microphone to his hometown crowd to allow them to recite his verse. West let Cudi and the crowd do the majority of the lyrical heavy-lifting, contributing only the second half of the verse.

West last appeared onstage on November 19th, 2016, the site of the rapper’s infamous Sacramento concert where – after arriving 90 minutes late and performing for 15 minutes – West went on a long rant that lashed out at Jay-Z and Beyoncé.

“Beyoncé, I was hurt because I heard that you said you wouldn’t perform unless you won Video of the Year over me and over ‘Hotline Bling,'” West, who was on “his Trump shit,” said that night in Sacramento. “Now don’t go dissing Beyoncé, she’s great. Taylor Swift is great. We are all great people. We are all equal. But sometimes we be playing the politics too much and forget who we are just to win. Fuck winning, fuck looking cool. Fuck looking cool. Fuck being cool. Fuck all that, bruh.”

That Sacramento concert, the last show before West abruptly canceled the remainder of his Saint Pablo tour, also featured a reconciliation between West and Cudi after the two rappers engaged in a war of words weeks earlier that ended with Cudi entering a rehab facility. 

West’s live return comes days after the rapper appeared on CyHi the Prynce’s new song “Dat Side,” although it was later revealed that the guest verse was recorded in 2016.

Related Content: