Daily Archives: July 6, 2017

Watch Gaslamp Killer Explore 'Sins' in Chilling NSFW Short Film

Experimental producer-DJ the Gaslamp Killer unveiled a jarring new short film, Sins: The Instrumentalepathy Album Film, featuring music from his 2016 LP, Instrumentalepathy.

Photographer and filmmaker Marielle Tepper directed Sins, which offers a striking visual portrait of the seven deadly sins. Tepper’s depictions range from grotesque to goofy to NSFW, while Gaslamp Killer tracks like “Listen for My Whistle” and “Good Morning” provide a suitably eerie soundtrack.

Over seven minutes, Tepper explores gluttony through a pig-faced man gorging on snacks, sloth through an old man with scraggly hair and long nails trapped in a cluttered room, lust through a surreal striptease and pride through a showman who swallows half a selfie stick before taking a photo of himself. The clip comes to a unexpected end when Teller turns the story to a bleary-eyed boy who wanders away from his computer and joins a dinner table tableau designed to recall the Last Supper.

“In Christian tradition, sinning is, by definition, negative,” Tepper said in a statement. “But, to me, sins are descriptions of certain behaviors – not thoughts. So, I tried to separate those actions from the judgment that is always fastened to them: Negativism. I did this by setting out to make a video that is engaging, surprising and fun to watch – adjectives that, to me, add up to a positive experience. Sins are not only a part of life; they are, as often as not, a lot of fun.”

The Gaslamp Killer released Instrumentalepathy last September via his own imprint, Cuss Records. The album marked the producer’s first since 2012’s Breakthrough and was made as he recovered from a near-fatal scooter accident. The Gaslamp Killer will embark on a world tour in support of Instrumentalepathy this summer, with a handful of dates scheduled in North America starting August 5th in Nashville, Tennessee. 

The Gaslamp Killer North American Tour Dates

8/5 – Nashville, TN @ Deep Tropics
8/11 – Phoenix, AZ @ Press Room
8/20 – Crook County, OR @ Oregon Eclipse
9/29 – Darlington, MD @ Luna Light
10/18 – Los Angeles, CA @ Low End Theory 11-Year Anniversary

Related Content:


DJ Shadow Enlists Nas, Danny Brown for Surprise New EP

DJ Shadow released a surprise new EP, The Mountain Has Fallen, via Mass Appeal. The four-track project is available to stream on SoundCloud and features Nas, Danny Brown and Oscar-winning composer Steven Price (Gravity, Baby Driver).

Shadow previously shared EP opener, “Systematic,” which features Nas and also appears on the Silicon Valley Season Four soundtrack. The track finds Nas getting political over a classic b-boy base that Shadow laces with surreal synth squelches. DJ Shadow continues to push that futuristic flare over the EP’s next three tracks.

“Horror Show” is a mechanized stomper that features Danny Brown in diabolical form – “Smoke so much I think I need a farm of it/ Writer like Shakespeare on the top tier” – while “Good News” is a lurching, head-spinning instrumental. The Mountain Has Fallen closes with “Corridors,” another instrumental that blends DJ Shadow’s spaced-out industrial boom bap with Price’s cinematic scope.

In a statement, the producer explained why the EP is a “victory lap” following 2016’s The Mountain Will Fall. “Prior to the last album, I made a lot of high-risk moves behind the scenes, including walking away from a comfortable major-label deal,” he said. “My thinking was, If The Mountain Will Fall LP ends up being successful, I’d be in a much more positive place in my career. With everything that’s happened since it came out, I feel like I bet on myself and won. So I guess you could say that this new EP is my version of a victory lap. It’s a celebration, and an extension of those confident steps forward.”

The Mountain Has Fallen follows DJ Shadow’s DJ Shadow kicks off the summer leg of his tour in support of the album tonight, July 7th, in Toronto. The trek wraps August 4th in Nashville, Tennessee.

Related Content:


Tyler, the Creator Details New Album 'Scum F–k Flower Boy'

Tyler, the Creator has announced the release of his new album, Scum Fuck Flower Boy, which will be available on July 21st via Columbia Records.

The follow-up to 2015’s Cherry Bomb, his forthcoming LP includes the previously released “Who Dat Boy?” featuring A$AP Rocky and “911 / Mr. Lonely” featuring Steve Lacy and Frank Ocean. According to Pitchfork, iTunes credits also reveal contributions from Lil Wayne (“Dropping Seeds”) and Estelle (“Garden Shed”) and Ocean is additionally credited on “Where This Flower Blooms.” “Foreword” lists members of the band Can as contributors and the Gap Band’s Raymond Calhoun is credited for the “Outstanding” interpolation used in “911 / Mr. Lonely.” The Gap Band was listed as one of the featured artists for the song on Spotify.

The 14-song set will also house two covers, one that the rapper designed himself and one created by artist Eric White.

Tyler, the Creator is currently slated for several upcoming festivals, including Panorama Music Festival in New York on July 28th, Detroit Mo Pop Festival on July 30th and his own Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival in Los Angeles on October 28th and 29th.

Scum Fuck Flower Boy Track List

1. “Foreword”
2. “Where This Flower Blooms”
3. “Sometimes…”
4. “See You Again”
5. “Who Dat Boy?”
6. “Pothole”
7. “Garden Shed”
8. “Boredom”
9. “I Ain’t Got Time!”
10. “911 / Mr. Lonely”
11. “Dropping Seeds”
12. “November”
13. “Glitter”
14. “Enjoy Right Now Today”

Related Content:


Bittered Releases "Badge Head" Video

Bittered have released a new video for “Badge Head”. Check it HERE. http://www.nataliezworld.com/search/label/News


The Black Capes Releases “Now Rise” Video

The Black Capes has released a new video for “Now Rise”. Check it out right over HERE. http://www.nataliezworld.com/search/label/News


Darkenhöld Releases New Album

French Black Metal band Darkenhöld released their fourth album “Memoria Sylvarum” on “Editions de la Vieille Tour Records”. The album was mixed/mastered by Guillaume Vrac at his home studio. Darkenhöld  was formed in 2008 at …Read More


Electric Lords – High Voltage Kingdom

Ah psychedelic and stoner rock, if you are not aware of these types of genres, it basically is a certain style of the rock n’ roll genre, except it uses various beats, tones, and melodies …Read More


Calling For Eden – Simple Reasons

Calling For Eden is taking the likes of the metal genre when it comes to its member line-up that is, because this eight member piece, is one act that takes rock n’ roll to a …Read More


No Limited Spiral – Into the Marinesnow

Japan sure does know their music, with such a vast variety at hand it is no wonder so many people across the globe have taken a liking to their acts that come from such a …Read More


Thy Art Is Murder’s Lee says We Need to Take Action Now!

Australians Thy Art Is Murder is a deathcore act with four albums down, lots of shows and touring done with so much more in-store there is no stopping them! Drummer Lee Stanton one of two …Read More